Hunger

“Ha ha ha…”

“…heh. Ha ha ha ha.”

“Who’s there? Show yourself, if you want. I want you to. Ha ha ha ha.”

“…so you’re TIMELESS? Ha ha ha! What a pleasure! And my condolences, of course.”

Ha. Ha ha ha ha. What an irony. “Timeless”, he called me. And now look. More time than I can handle. Maybe it’s because I don’t have a watch still. Ha ha ha ha ha. Ha. Ha ha.

“You don’t have to think, my friend. Not here, not in front of ME- spill it out in the air! It’s good for you, so the doctors say!”

“HA HA HA HA! I’m sure they do. I’m sure they tell you lots of things about me, don’t they? And I know about you. I read books.”

“Did they teach you all about eusuchia, too? Because I’m impressed. Never would have thought to skin the bastard while he was still alive. Quite a thinker, are you? Ha ha!”

“Not really. Think too much, do very little. I get creative instead. Will you buy it from me, ha ha ha ha ha?”

“Ha ha ha! If only I could, my dear TIMELESS, but then I’d stop liking you so maybe I wouldn’t. We always get beat but we sure don’t stop pulling, that’s what my old man used to say. Cigar?”

“I’ve heard it’s bad for you.”

“Sure is, bud. Nothing like a parent you don’t need, protecting all the time, trying to be some fucking role model to themselves. Poor old Jones, jumping in for nature’s call…only to hit a brick wall made of pure jagged venom, ha ha ha. Did you like it?”

“I…did. What a way we interpret freedom, eh? Ha ha ha! I could be king of this place, but I’d rather be treason instead. Not like there’s any point in either of them. When you really think about it.”

“Eh heh heh heh HA! No point in ANYTHING, FRIEND! That’s the beauty of construction, made of lots of little pieces, all waiting to be played. You should play more often. We’ll make a holiday of it, whenever you feel the need to burn some more. Whaddya say?”

“Is that a joke?”

“I’m not laughing.”

“Ha ha. Fine. You play the king and see how hard you can stomp on me.”

“Are you a masochist? I stomp hard.”

“It’s not a holiday if it isn’t fun.”

“Ha ha ha! Indeed. There was me being all cutesy offering a bit of buddying up, but if you want to fight I’m sure Bats can spare a little fun from his schedule.”

“You’re too kind.”

“I am indeed, ha ha. So which one of you will turn up?”

“Does it matter?”

“It does indeed, dearest TIMELESS. You’re all well and good, but I’ve got nothing that works with the one with…with the…-”

“-the one with the legs. Don’t worry. It’s only interested in eating. Ha ha.”

 

W

Leave a Reply

